How the idea starts

A lot of people ask me how I get ideas for some of the drawings and paintings I do. There really is no “method”, they just come. Like this morning, I was in the shower and started drawing with my finger on the steamy glass. That is how my two ideas started today.

After the shower I grabbed paper and pencil and quickly jotted down some rough shapes and wrote down colors I had in my head.  I pulled out my supplies which consist of the traditional brushes, paints and then I grab my quirky items I use to create different textures. These can  range from a pizza cutter, a drinking straw to a spoon we use to get innards out of a pumpkin. Sometimes I raid the kids piggy bank for a coin to use. Anything goes!  I really wanted bubble wrap today, but I couldn’t find any so I used Makenzie’s little fingers to poke into the molding paste. It worked well and she enjoyed poking the canvas.

The first idea is started, it is a heavily textured abstract. The second is still on paper and I am still thinking about it.  Often ideas stay on paper or in my brain cooking until it is ready to be done or discarded. Paste should be dry soon and I will be working on the newest piece of work to come out of this nutty head of mine.

Below is a picture of some of the supplies I pulled out to use today. Image

Here is a rough sketch of two ideas, the abstract with circles I have started on canvas today. The other is still cooking in my head.

Image

About twheel67

Speak Less, Do More. That is my mantra.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

